Make your own free website on

Ferdinand Magellan set out from Spain in 1519 on the first voyage to circumnavigate
the globe with five ships and a complement of 264 crew. three years later in 1522, only
the one ship, the Victoria, returned to Spain with 18 men.

Magellan was welcomed by two Rajas, Kolambu and Siagu. He named the islands the
Archipelago of San Lazaro, erected a cross and climed the lands for Spain. The friendly
Rajas took Magellan to Cebu to meet Raja Humabon. Humabon and 800 Cebuanos were
baptized as Christians. Magellan agreed to help Raja Humabon put down Lapu-Lapu, a
rebellious Datu on the nearby island of Mactan. In a battle between Spanish soldiers and
Lapu-Lapu's wariors, Magellan was killed on April 27, 1521. Disputes over women
caused relations between Raja Humabon and the remaining Spaniards to deteriorate. The
Cebuanos killed 27 Spaniards in a skirmish and the Spaniards, deciding to resume their
explorations, departed Cebu.

Four more expeditions followed between 1525 and 1542. The commander of the fourth
expedition, Ruy Lopez de Villalobos, named the islands after Philip, heir to the Spanish
throne (r. Philip II 1556 - 1598).

The Philippines was not formally organized as a Spanish colony until 1565 when Philip
II appointed Miguel Lopez de Legazpi the first Governor - General. Legazpi selected
Manila for the capital of the colony in 1571 because of its fine natural harbour and the
rich lands surrounding the city that could supply it with produce.

Home The Japanese Conquest The American Period The Philippine Presidents
Philippine Tourist Spot
Site designed by: Dennis P. Cantada
CCC - M3